Skip to main content

Important system message. Read More

View Alert [ close x ]
Content Starts Here
< Back

Article

Purging Profiles

Release: 16.2

View As PDF

Overview

The Purge feature allows the user admin login group to delete all of the information in the Purge folder. Location (Company), Job, and Person Profiles can all be purged from the Platform in the event that duplicate or incorrect Profiles are created in the system. Purge actions are permanent and cannot be reversed. Purges are completed during low usage time frames, meaning that a scheduled purge might not be completed until the next day.

Please note that since some data fields are not enabled for editing within the system, you may not be able to clear enough information from the Location (Company), Job, or Person Profile in order to purge it. In addition, following the purge, some files may still remain. The iCIMS Talent Platform does not allow for Profiles to be purged if they fit any of the following criteria for anyone who:

  • Has opted out of emails
  • Last updated a person (other than their own profile)
  • Changed the folder of a person/company (other than their own Profile)
  • Created an employee tab
  • Created or last updated a job
  • Changed the folder of a job
  • Last updated a company
  • Changed the folder of a company
  • Is candidate’s recruiter
  • Is an hiring manager’s primary or secondary rep
  • Is the owner/recruiter of a job
  • Changed an applicant flow status
  • Has posted a job
  • Started/updated an approval process
  • Approved or needs to approve something in the recruiting workflow
  • Owns one or more iForm packets in the system
  • Has created an email campaign
Warning: Purge actions are irreversible and clear out all information contained in the Purge folder in bulk for that specific folder type. While you can select the Profile type to purge, you cannot select specific Profiles to purge in the Purge folder.

Purging Profiles

Note: The recommended sequence for marking records for purge is Location (Company) Profiles, then Job Profiles, then Person Profiles, if applicable.

Purging Location Profiles

  1. Conduct a search (Search > Location)  to locate the profile(s) that should be purged from the Platform. Enter any criteria that will assist in identifying the profile(s) that need to be purged.
  2. Check the box to the left of each Location Profile that you would like to purge, then click Bulk Edit.
  3. Select the Professional Tab, then select the Location Folder Field. Then update the Location Folder value(s) to Purge. Save and allow changes to process, then click Close.
  4. After you have scheduled all desired profiles of any type to be purged, input a ticket with Technical Support indicating what profile type(s) have been marked for purge. Ask them to schedule the purge of records permanently from your system.
    • If you are in Implementation, contact your Implementation Manager to make this request instead.

Purging Job Profiles

  1. Conduct a search (Search > Job)  to locate the profile(s) that should be purged from the Platform. Enter any criteria that will assist in identifying the profile(s) that need to be purged.
  2. Check the box to the left of each Job Profile that you would like to purge, then click Edit Folder.
  3. Update the Job Folder value(s) to Purge. Save and allow changes to process, then click Close.
  4. After you have scheduled all desired profiles of any type to be purged, input a ticket with Technical Support indicating what profile type(s) have been marked for purge. Ask them to schedule the purge of records permanently from your system.
    • If you are in Implementation, contact your Implementation Manager to make this request instead.


Purging Person Profiles

  1. Conduct a search (Search > Person > Person)  to locate the profile(s) that should be purged from the Platform. Enter any criteria that will assist in identifying the profile(s) that need to be purged.
  2. Check the box to the left of each Person Profile that you would like to purge, then click Edit Folder.
  3. Update the Person Folder value(s) to Purge. Save and allow changes to process, then click Close.
  4. Check to make sure that the Person Profile(s) is not attached to any Recruiting Workflows.
  • Run a Recruiting Workflow Search (Search > Recruiting Workflow).
  • Add the following filter: Person File > Person > Contact Tab > Person Folder IS Purge.
  • For any result, click the Recruiting Workflow History icon beside the profile name, then click the Disassociate person from job link.
  1. Check to make sure that the Person Profile(s) is not attached to any Sourcing Workflows.
    • Run a Sourcing Workflow Search (Search > Sourcing Workflow).
    • Add the following filter: Fields (Workflow) Tab > Person > Contact Tab > Person Folder IS Purge.
    • For any result, click the View Audit Trail icon beside the profile name, then click the Disassociate person from workflow link.
  2. Check to make sure that the Person Profile(s) is not attached to any Onboarding Workflows.
    • Run a Sourcing Workflow Search (Search > Sourcing Workflow).
    • Add the following filter: Fields (Workflow) Tab > Person > Contact Tab > Person Folder IS Purge.
    • Add the following output: Onboarding Workflow Icons > Audit Trail Icon.
    • For any result, click the View Audit Trail icon beside the profile name, then click the Disassociate person from workflow link.
  3. Check to make sure there is no Login Group assigned to the Person Profile.
    • Run a Person Search (Search > Person > Person).
    • Add the following filter: Contact Tab > Person Folder IS Purge.
    • Add the following filter: Login Tab > Login Group IS NOT -- Blank --.
    • For any result, click into the Profile name. Then, navigate to the Login Tab, then click Edit and set the Login Group to blank. Then click Save and click Back to return to any remaining search results.
    • View Audit Trail icon beside the profile name, then click the Disassociate person from workflow link.
  4. After you have scheduled all desired profiles of any type to be purged, input a ticket with Technical Support indicating what profile type(s) have been marked for purge. Ask them to schedule the purge of records permanently from your system.
    • If you are in Implementation, contact your Implementation Manager to make this request instead.

Notes:
  • A small number of clients who have signed the appropriate waver may purge records from their own system via the Admin > Tools > Purge Archives feature.
  • Records take 24 hours to be fully purged from the system.
 

User Admin Curriculum

The iCIMS introductory curriculum for user admins is split into four sections: Working in System Configuration, Managing Libraries, Managing Users & Profiles, and Managing Scheduled Reports. It includes videos and articles, with each type of resource denoted by the following icons:
  • User-added image: Article
  • User-added image: Learning Clip
  • User-added image: Chaptered Video
  • User-added image: Training Webinar
These resources provide information to assist user admins in configuring and maintaining their organization's instance of the iCIMS Talent Platform.

Working in System Configuration

Managing Libraries

Managing Users & Profiles

Managing Scheduled Reports